With your help, Jason & Kelly will hike 100 miles in one weekend—and raise $5,000 for Shenandoah National Park!

The Billy Goat Trail again!  I enjoyed it so much last week that I had to come back for more.  This time my good friend Tara came with me.  My dear babysitter Vanessa agreed to watch 5 kids – my 3 + Tara’s 2 – in order for me & Tara to have a little adventure.  We loved that in 4 short hours, we had a great workout & major catch up time.

We hiked the same route as my last visit, extending the hike a bit down river.  The heat by 10 in the morning was oppressive, so we took it carefully.  Climbing the rocks is just plain fun.  We are quite alert because they are dry but slippery, & some of the gaps are a stretch, but really, the trail is a great adventure.  Another good reason to stay aware is that some of the trail blazes are really faded, & others are tricky to find.  They are near your feet as opposed to eye level, & the funny angles of certain ones make sense once you are trying to figure out your next steps.

The nature sighting of the day proved to be fawns.  We saw 5.  So dear & sweet.  We also saw two five-lined skinks & several other little lizards.  That impressed my nature-loving Liam.  “Good eye, Momma!”  The skink’s blue tail is really cool.

Today’s hike was a teaser for me.  I am ready for the next big one.  We plan to be in the SNP on Monday.  Good times.  Thanks for today, Tara!  Thanks to Vanessa too!!

Comments on: "Billy Goat Trail, 8/01/11" (2)

  1. Glad you were still able to make it out on Monday. Get ready to be physically crushed on Monday. 🙂 It is supposed to be 92 degrees and humid.

  2. What a treat to hike with you, Kelly! Your enthusiasm for your 3 day hike has been contagious and made me yearn for a taste of the trails. Good luck on Monday! After seeing you effortlessly glide up those steep rock stairs (with me panting behind you looking far from graceful), there is no doubt that you’ll knock it out of the park.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

