With your help, Jason & Kelly will hike 100 miles in one weekend—and raise $5,000 for Shenandoah National Park!

This morning I had a special guest on my hike… my awesome, cool, sporty friend Diann!  She was game to be picked up at 7 for a little hiking adventure with me.  We drove to Great Falls Park and headed up the Potomac Heritage Trail through Riverbend Park, and back down the Bootlegger Trail via Conn’s Farm Meadow.  Somehow we made our way all over that meadow… that’s what happens when good friends get a chunk of time to catch up.  We did 6 miles in all, never stopped talking, and quite possibly walked through a world record number of spider webs.  Cases of the willies came and went, but the important thing is that we enjoyed ourselves. 

The clock is ticking to the commencement of the Crooked Trail 100.  Jason texted me this morning from Bethany Beach saying we need to meet one evening this week to talk.  We need to solidify our plan.  It’s so exhilarating to think that in ten days we will be heading to Waynesboro for a good night’s sleep before we begin.

My hope is to make some lists.  I love lists, and I love crossing off  things from my lists even more.  First on the list, walk.  I did some walking around Arlington this past weekend, a few miles here and there.  The upcoming weekdays will be more of the same.  Rain is on the weather forecast, so I am prepared to get wet.  Stay tuned.

As for the rest of the list, it’s what to pack to leave with Erin for night one, what to pack to leave at Skyland, what to pack for the day, what to eat, who to remind to pick us up, drop us off, or meet us… it’s a bit of a tangled web right now.  I’d best refine it a bit.

One last thing, our little friend from Riverbend…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

