With your help, Jason & Kelly will hike 100 miles in one weekend—and raise $5,000 for Shenandoah National Park!

Sandy Neck, Cape Cod, 8/25/11

I picked a beautiful day to take advantage of what looked like a great hike very close to our vacation rental in East Sandwich, Massachusetts.  It was a great hike.  It was just a little unexpected.

Sandy Neck is a cool public beach we had visited on the 24th.  We spent hours beachcombing and found crabs, starfish, snails, fish, shells, & rocks.  The tidal pools provide limitless entertainment for our three kids, our neice and nephew, and us!

Sandy Neck also offers hiking – over 12 miles in all – so I decided to check it out.  My family dropped me off with a promise of returning in an hour, so off I trekked.  The young guys working at the gatehouse had no idea who they were talking to when they told me to be careful, the hike was long.  6 miles one way, ma’am.  I smiled.

So 5 minutes into my hike I turned a corner and the packed sandy trail became soft sand.  My little hike became a cardiovascular adventure.  Kinda like snowshoeing, but in sand.  Warm wind, ominous skies and deep soft sand.  Lots of seemingly endless deep soft sand.  It was a fun change of pace, and I had to laugh because I got quite the workout.  4 miles in an hour.  Barely saw any other people except for the nice couple who warned me that the sign posts were missing and they had gotten a little lost.  Sandy Neck needs a little love from an organization like the Shenandoah National Park Trust!

Check out the tell tale bangs! Serious ocean breeze!

I also took advantage of beach walks on the Cape, and an awesome walk with my fabulous sister-in-law Marnie one afternoon.  She is a rock star in training for the 3-day breast cancer walk the weekend after the Crooked Trail 100.

A change of scenery is always good, but I miss the park!

 
 
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

